University of Portsmouth Sustainability Prize

Date posted: August 5, 2015

University of Portsmouth graduate Martyn Webb (centre left) has been awarded the ArchitecturePLB sponsored Sustainability prize. The celebration event was led by Pam Cole (left), Head of School of Architecture with Dan Blott (right centre), Principal Lecturer and MArch Course Leader. The award was given by Rupert Cook (right) Director of ArchitecturePLB at the event held within the School of Architecture prior to the Graduation ceremony.

Martyn’s project explored the possibility of creating a Sustainability Innovation Centre in Luc du Salagou, France. The centre would provide an environment for tourists, students and professionals to work in parallel to learn about the practice, research and development of sustainable materials. You can download further information about Martyn’s project by clicking the ‘Download PDF’ icon.

This marks the 12th year ArchitecturePLB have sponsored this award for the University. The first winner, Paul Phasey is now a Senior Architect at ArchitecturePLB, currently working on a number of our residential projects. Paul’s interest in Sustainability has continued, having recently been certified as a PassivHaus designer.

The full list of previous winners:

2014/15 – Martyn Webb
2013/14 – Stephen Jolly
2012/13 – Sophie Bellows
2011/12 – Owen French
2010/11 – Adam Parsons
2009/10 – Carol King (Bowden House School)
2008/09 – Matthew Smith
2007/08 – Claire Bovey
2006/07 – Matthew Sharp
2005/06 – Stuart Woodhall
2004/05 – Kevin Abraham and Chris Knight
2003/04 – Paul Phasey